Ph:(212) 535-2300
1016 5th Avenue, New York, NY 10028,

Leave A Review



 


Testimonials

John E. Sherman MD
5 5 Star Rating based on 39 reviews
1016 5th Avenue New York, NY 10028
212-535-2300

WORTH THE TRIP

5 5 Star Rating - Written on August 15, 2012

Dr Sherman and his staff are amazing. I came from out of state for my surgery and they could not have been more pleasant and accomodating.

by

RECONSTRUCTION REVISION

5 5 Star Rating - Written on July 27, 2012

I had a botched reconstruction plastic surgery after a double mastectomy. I was physically uncomfortable and depressed about the results. I was referred to Dr John E. Sherman who assured me that he could fix it. Dr John E. Sherman changed my life. After the surgery the pain that I thought I had to live with the rest of my life was gone and I am very happy with the results. He couldnt have been nicer and more attentive. I would recommend Dr. John Sherman to anybody.

by

THANK YOU FOR SAVING MY LIFE!

5 5 Star Rating - Written on July 11, 2012

I was rushed to Cornell hospital with Necrotizing Fascilitis commonly known as a flesh-eating bacteria which is a deadly disease.Result from a previous surgery. Thanks to Doctor Sherman who saved my life words can’t express how thankful I am. Remembering his kind words at bedside telling me I will be okay, bringing joy to my family in waiting room. I was at the hospital for 3 Months and Dr. Sherman and his team would visit me everyday. Dr.Sherman made sure all labs and tests were done to ensure my full recovery. After I left the the hospital I needed one more procedure(reconstructive Surgery)on my right side of my butocks. I would of not done it with no one else but Dr. Sherman;I felt safe and the results were amazing. The staff are wonderful especially Diana,RN who is so caring and always available to answer any questions. I love you guys thank you for all you have done for me and my family.

by

RECONSTRUCTION REVISION

5 5 Star Rating - Written on May 27, 2012

Dr. Sherman was recommnded to me by my breast surgeon. I had undergone a bilateral mastectomy for brest cancer in 2009 with reconstruction. My reconstructive results were less than stellar. Dr. Sherman revised my reconstruction and I couldn’t be happier with my results. I like looking at myself again, and for that i am forever greatful.

by

BREAST RECONSTRUCTION AFTER MASTECTOMY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on May 23, 2012

Dr. Sherman did an amazing job on my breast reconstruction after a bilateral mastectomy. His work and bedside manner were first class. I was in a fog after my breast cancer diagnosis and he took the time to explain everything and the results are amazing. Nobody would ever know. Staff has been caring and concerned throughout.

by

BREAST RECONSTRUCTION

5 5 Star Rating - Written on May 22, 2012

Being diagnosed with breast cancer is a difficult time. Dr. Sherman made it easier, I knew I was in great hands and the results are amazing. From my initial office visit to the OR to follow up care, Dr. Sherman has been a caring presence throughout.

by

BEST FACIAL SURGERY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on May 14, 2012

My 16 year old son was injured in a baseball collision. He had multiple fractures in his face and and his face was beginning to collapse. It was a stressful time for our family, but as soon as we contacted Dr. Sherman we felt assured that we were getting him the best care possible. We cannot say enough about the professionalism, kindness and skill that Dr. Sherman gave to our son. He healed beautifully and quickly thanks to Dr. Sherman and I would highly recommend him to anyone looking for the best!

by

GREAT DOCTOR, FABULOUS NURSES

5 5 Star Rating - Written on April 25, 2012

Dr. Sherman explained the procedure well and did a great job, but the real care and compassion came from his nurses.

by

THE HUMAN COMPONENT

5 5 Star Rating - Written on January 7, 2012

Dr Sherman and his staff were amazing I felt comfortable and cared for from start to finish. This was my first experience with plastic surgery, and being Diabetic Type I comes with it’s own set of issues. I felt Dr Shermaan took the time with me ,discussing all my options . He was a bit on the conservative side with me which I appreciated . Needless to say I love the results I had interviewed other surgeons and I have always gone with my gut which never lets me down I’m glad that my gut helped me to choose Dr Sherman!

by

FIRST CLASS

5 5 Star Rating - Written on December 22, 2011

Dr Sherman and his staff were a God send. I suffered a severe trauma injury to my face last year and my nose was completely shattered as a result. Dr Sherman not only restored my face/nose back to what it once was, he did so with such grace, compassion and patience. He is an incredible doctor and incredible human being. It has been a year now since my injury and I feel so fortunate to have been treated my such an incredible doctor. My nose looks great and healed well- the surgery – he took more time and paid such attention to detail. He is not like a lot of plastic surgeons out there- just out to make a buck- Dr Sherman really cares about his patients. His staff was just as helpful and they helped me with all my insurance forms etc. etc. He is a rare breed- I highly recommend Dr Sherman.

by

EXCELLENT DOCTOR

5 5 Star Rating - Written on December 17, 2011

Doctor Sherman is a extremely skilled surgeon with a very friendly and caring staff.He can help you reach your goals with very natural looking results.First Class and Highly Recommended.

by

RECOMMEND WITH NO HESITATION

5 5 Star Rating - Written on October 6, 2011

Dr. Sherman is a great professional taking great pride in his work. With absolutely no hesitation I would recommend Dr. Sherman to any of my friends or family members looking for a top notch doctor in a field of plastic surgery.

by

FIRST TREATED FOR EMERGENCY RECONSTRUCTIVE FACIAL SURGERY, 5 YEARS LATER CONSULTED RE AGING

5 5 Star Rating - Written on July 2, 2011

After I had a serious bike accident I discovered how flawed the model of patient as shopper for medical services is. Once the ER determined that my eye was not entangled in the broken bones of my face, I was on my own (severely concussed and disfigured) to research eye specialists and surgeons with waits for appointments, conflicting and ambivalent opinions, more delays and trips for labs and films etc. A colleague had suffered traumatic injuries a few years before and I was able to locate her in England she gave me Dr. John Shermans name. His office made time for me the day I called. He took immediate charge of my treatment, in marked contrast to the other doctors I had seen. He made all the arrangements to get me into New York Hospital, met me at the door of the hospital at 6 AM, made sure all the pre-op tests were done post haste, and gave over his weekend to my care, even spending time distracting me with conversation prior to the seven hour operation, and being there when I came out of anesthesia.Besides being a renowned surgeon (which I didnt realize until later), Dr. Sherman is factual, realistic and reasonable. This trustworthiness led me to consult him five years later, when aging began to take its toll. Unlike my ambitious dermatologist, who promotes many treatments as a hairdresser might (with costs that seem to escalate surprisingly), Dr. Sherman did not recommend a whole array of adjustments I didnt feel he was looking at me for what services he could sell me on, rather simply disinterestedly presenting a sensible approach that dispelled many of the marketing myths for various cosmetic processes. So, for reconstructive surgery, he is absolutely top-notch, and for cosmetic work he is equally skilled, as well as honest, which is invaluable in cosmetic work, when ones insecurities make one vulnerable to promotional wishful thinking

by

DR. SHERMAN MADE THE BEST OF A DIFFICULT SITUATION

5 5 Star Rating - Written on May 22, 2011

Dr. Sherman removed and re-sealed a scar on my daughter’s chest from an emergency heart surgery. He was incredibly kind, patient and knowledgeable. Dr. Sherman took time to explain the procedure and the healing process.I would recommend Dr. Sherman to anyone needing a plastic surgeon, and I would travel to NYC for any elective or necessary surgery.

by

UTMOST IN PROFESSIONALISM

5 5 Star Rating - Written on May 9, 2011

I have found Dr.John Sherman to be the utmost in professionalism and tops in his field of plastic surgery. I have had other doctors perform procedures on me and Dr.Sherman had to correct them or finish the procedure as they did not. His staff as well was professional and courteous. A true pleasure to work with. And it’s nice when my frinds and family say I look 10 years younger!! Thnaks Dr. Sherman!!

by

TRUE EXPERT IN HIS FIELD

5 5 Star Rating - Written on March 11, 2011

Dr. Sherman is wonderful! Two years ago, he repaired my little boy’s finger when it was almost severed. Now, you can’t even tell where the injury was. And last year, I took the plunge and went to him for lipo after having twins. My belly looks amazing and my thighs are so different now that I can buy pants on-line without ever even trying them on and they fit perfectly. I am thrilled! His staff are superb and he is a true expert in his field. I have already recommended him to several friends.

by

I HIGHLY RECOMMEND DR SHERMAN TO ANY WOMAN FACING BREAST RECONSTRUCTION AFTER A MASTECTOMY!!!

5 5 Star Rating - Written on March 10, 2011

I was referred to Dr Sherman for a revision due to poor results from my first breast reconstruction after my bilateral mastectomy. My first reconstruction left my implants way too low and I had no cleavage. I was very unhappy but was told by my plastic surgeon that this was an excellent result.From the moment I entered his office, my experience with Dr. Sherman was a drastic change. He actually listened to my concerns and most importantly validated them. My surgery was February 14th 2010, very fitting because I woke up LOVING my new breasts (and they were only the expanders). Dr Sherman used alloderm and sewed in the expanders. He fixed the issue with my “having no cleavage” as well as the implants being way to low. I actually can breathe better. I feel he is so “cutting edge”. Dr Sherman says we have a way to go but I already see a tremendous difference. Since my mastectomy I have been cancer free and that is the by far the most important thing. But how my breasts look is a reflection of my womanhood and I am empowered to be feeling closer to my “old self”. After all, as horrific as my breast cancer diagnosis has been, getting the best cosmetic result is something I certainly deserve. Dr. Sherman assures me that he will give me the best cosmetic result possible, and this time around I really believe it!! I HIGHLY recommend Dr Sherman to any woman facing breast reconstruction after a mastectomy. He is kind, compassionate and a highly respected and gifted plastic surgeon. His office staff is equally wonderful. My only regret is that I didnt find him sooner!!!

by

SOMEONE I WANT TO KEEP IN MY LIFE!

5 5 Star Rating - Written on February 24, 2011

It has been a privilege to have Dr Sherman correct a prior disfiguring rhinoplasty which was the result from a previous plastic surgeon and to have him perform additional cosmetic surgery. Dr Sherman is extremely talented and a skilled surgeon whose reputation is well known and who enjoys the highest of respect from his colleagues and patients alike. Dr Sherman, who also has a wonderful sense of humor, is honest, straightforward and compassionate. The management of his office reflects the same degree of professionalism and provides an environment that is comforting and reassuring. There are some physicians you want to keep in your life forever and Dr. Sherman is exactly that for me.

by

CHANGED MY LIFE

5 5 Star Rating - Written on December 16, 2010

I cannot give Dr. Sherman and his entire staff a higher recommendation. I came to the office to have a revision on a previous rhinoplasty and for the first time in my life I have a straight nose that I can breathe through perfectly. Then I had a breast augmentation. Dr. Sherman was excellent in aligning my expectations with what was actually achievable. I am so happy with the results. I have beautiful and natural breasts. Dr. Sherman’s credentials and years of experience speak for themselves but his warmth and careful attentiveness made my whole experience wonderful. He always took his time to answer my questions. I have not met a more caring physician. My experience with Dr. Sherman has quite literally changed my life. I recommend him to anyone contemplating cosmetic surgery.

by

EXTRAORDINARY CARE

5 5 Star Rating - Written on November 11, 2010

I am very pleased with the results of my breast augmentation surgery. Dr Sherman and his staff are extremely professional

by

EXTRAORDINARY CARE

5 5 Star Rating - Written on October 18, 2010

I am writing today because of extraordinary care I received from Dr. Sherman. On Sept.23 while hiking I fell 100 ft. and sustained broken bones to the right side of my face. The muscles of my eye were entrapped by the fracture causing severe double vision. The first group of doctors who operated on me couldnt fix the problem. I flew to NY where Dr. Sherman met me straight from the airport and took me under his care. I was reoperated on with Dr. Lisman(occular plastic surgeon) and Dr.Sherman within two days of my arrival. Now less than two months after my surgery I am functioning normally ready go hiking again. Nobody would guess looking at me that I had severe orbital fracture, thanks to Dr.Shermans excellent techique and genuine care.

by

I RECOMMEND DR. JOHN SHERMAN HIGHLY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on October 15, 2010

Having had previous surgeries [eyelid for aesthetics and for removal of skin cancer], we set expectations together. I asked for a certain finished product … subtle and not pulled. So no browlift or work to the center of my face … only neck, edge of face and temporal lifting. Wondrous. People ask if I lost weight it is so subtle. I’m more than pleased.

by

FANTASTIC RESULTS

5 5 Star Rating - Written on October 14, 2010

I had liposuction of the abdomen and I was pleasantly surprised how painless the whole operation turned out to be. There was minor discomfort and minimal bruising but that was it and the results are so fantastic that I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Dr Sherman.

by

DR. SHERMAN – HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

5 5 Star Rating - Written on October 14, 2010

I was involved in an accident and suffered severe lacerations on my face including my nose. I was fortunate enough to find Dr. Sherman who performed emergency surgery on my nose at Cornell Weill NY Presbyterian. What impressed me most was his thorough follow-up attention. The procedure was complicated, but through his guidance my nose ended up healing much faster than other doctors had anticipated. He was direct and compassionate throughout the process, and I feel extremely lucky to have been under his care.

by

VERY CARING

5 5 Star Rating - Written on October 2, 2010

Dr. Sherman corrected my nose from a previous surgery that left one nostril hitched up and a round ball tip with an unattractive scoop. It looks so very natural now. The office staff took such good care of me on that day and for every follow up visit. Dr. Sherman is very caring and an amazing surgeon. He recently did some surgery for two basal cell skin cancer sites where I was concerned about the scarring. He got the whole thing and lab reports were clean on the first try. It was a most stressfull situation made easy and they took care of the whole thing for me. I would highly recommend Dr. Sherman for anyone in need of surgery of this type.

by

LIPODOC

5 5 Star Rating - Written on December 22, 2009

This doctor is the ONLY one for liposuction and nose jobs. He is known in the doctor social circle as “Lipodoc” for obvious reasons. When I was at his office for my consultations he had done three nose jobs. This is THE doctor with the successful practice and years of experience. It helps that he has invented his own tools also.

by

WONDERFUL SURGEON

5 5 Star Rating - Written on October 8, 2009

Dr. Sherman is a wonderful surgeon with a wonderful personality. He is quite famous and people from all over the world come to intern under him. When he did my nose one of the most famous surgeons from Italy was under Dr.Sherman’s wing. I asked the intern why Dr.Sherman and he simply replied “He is experienced with skilled hands. Everyone wants to work for Dr.Sherman” My nose now looks amazing and exactly how I described to him how I wanted it. Of course when you choose how you want your nose done he also gives some advice on how to choose. I will always be grateful to Dr. Sherman!

by

OUTSTANDING DOCTOR AND EXTRAORDINARY STAFF

5 5 Star Rating - Written on August 4, 2009

After having had a few cosmetic procedures done by different doctors, I felt I had a very good vantage point from which to evaluate plastic surgeons. Although I cannot complain about my previous doctors (3 in total) they never impressed me or left me feeling better than merely “satisfied” in a very average, nondescript way. When I needed a complicated procedure I decided that I owed it to myself to do the research and find the best doctor out there -regardless of geographical limitations. I was determined to travel and provide myself with an expert.In the end I found Dr.Sherman. I felt compelled to write this evaluation because of the brillant talent this man possesses and the unbelievable support staff he has in his office. Not only were my results outstanding but the follow-up care was truly extraordinary.I cannot rate this doctor any higher and recommend him to all my family and friends.

by

IF I KNEW HOW TO TAP DANCE I WOULD

5 5 Star Rating - Written on July 22, 2009

Dr sherman did my upper and lower eyelids 2 weeks ago. i could not be happier with the experience (very caring, very professional, virtually painless) or with the results. i would recommend him without reservation.

by

VERY HAPPY WITH RESULTS

5 5 Star Rating - Written on July 21, 2009

I had a rhinoplasty, chin augmentation, and under the chin lipo about a year ago. Dr. Sherman was always very personable, and seemed very knowledgeable and experienced. His staff was very friendly and helpful during my recovery. Directly after my surgery we called Dr. Sherman a little concerned and he was willing to open up his office just for me on a weekend. A year later I am very happy with my results, no one can tell I had my chin done and my nose looks very natural. I am confident in recommending him to other patients.

by

GREAT JOB ON REVISIONAL BREAST RECONSTRUCTION AFTER MASTECTOMY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on July 16, 2009

Dr Sherman did a great job on my revisional breast reconstruction after mastectomy. I had had previous reconstruction done elsewhere that I was not happy with and developed a capsular contraction. Dr Sherman spent a lot of time with me answering questions and I believe he is more compassionate and understanding than other plastic surgeons I had seen, even at Sloan Kettering, since he has had personal experience in his own family with breast cancer and reconstruction. He took his time in measuring and remeasuring to ensure the best implant shape and fit possible to match the existing breast. The result is better than I expected and I’m very happy. His nurse and staff were helpful and kind.

by

NO MORE LAUGHING AT MY EARS

5 5 Star Rating - Written on July 8, 2009

I recently had an otoplasty procedure. A lot of people had been laughing at my ears but Dr. Sherman fixed that for me. I’m nine years old. He also invented tools that he uses in all the procedures. My ears look outstanding!! He is a #1 doctor and a spectacular surgeon!!!! Thank you Dr. SHERMAN!!!!!!!!!!!!

by

RECOMMENDED FOR BREAST RECONSTRUCTION

5 5 Star Rating - Written on July 1, 2009

I have been under Dr. Shermans care since April for breast reconstruction after my bilateral mastectomy. He has been extremely accommodating and caring throughout the entire process. He rearranged his calendar on short notice to coordinate with my breast surgeon and meet my scheduled surgery date. When I arrive early for office visits he usually sees me early rather than making me wait. Hes been patient and flexible working with my insurance company on payment issues. He even called me the day before surgery to see how I was doing.My temporary breasts (saline implants and expanders) look much better than I had imagined and the incision scars are super thin, almost threadlike, thanks to Dr. Sherman. I also liked that Dr. Sherman is one of a handful of NYC surgeons who are authorized to use the Allergan 410 silicone implants, which Ill be getting in a few weeks.Dr. Sherman has helped me through a very stressful situation and I am pleased with the results. I totally recommend him to other women facing breast reconstruction.

by

GREAT DOCTOR!!!!! VERY SATISFIED!

5 5 Star Rating - Written on May 22, 2009

I had a breast lift done last year with Dr. Sherman and I am realy happy with the results. After having three kids, my breasts according to my husband were tierd and lifeless. Now he loves them and calls them perky and beautiful. I would reccomend Dr. Sherman to anyone. Thanks Doc.

by

REMARKABLE RESULT

5 5 Star Rating - Written on May 19, 2009

Dr. Sherman did my Rhinoplasty and lipo 3 months ago, already the result is remarkable. His staff was very helpful and I could not thank him enough!

by

RECONSTRUCTIVE SURGERY AFTER MASTECTOMY

5 5 Star Rating - Written on May 19, 2009

I have been a patient for 23 years. Dr Sherman did reconstructive surgery after my mastectomy. He recently removed ruptured implants missed by the radiologist at my annual screening. He was, as always, kind, caring, patient, generous with his time, and passionate about his work. His staff went above and beyond to make me feel cared for.

by

TUMMY TUCK LOOKS GREAT

5 5 Star Rating - Written on May 19, 2009

He is an excellent surgeon. I had my tummy tuck done in December. First of all he took his time during my initial consultation, not like a lot of other doctors. After my surgery his nurses were great and he called adn came to follow up on me. My tummy looks great. He is the guy to go to in NYC!!

by

GREAT DOC

5 5 Star Rating - Written on March 18, 2009

He did my lipo a few months ago. I consulted with a few doctors before Dr.Sherman. After my consultation with him, I decided to proceed with the surgery.I could not have made a better decision. The surgery went very well. He’s the Doctor for lipo.

by

WONDERFUL JOB

5 5 Star Rating - Written on March 17, 2009

He was a very helpful man, i called him at 11:00 at night for an emergency and he was at the hospital within half an hour, he also said he would have opened his office for me, but the hospital was closer to my house. He did a wonderful job on my nose (which I hurt at a bar) and is the only cosmetic surgeon I will go to for now on.

by

Schedule Your Consultation Today

If you would like to meet with Dr. John Sherman to discuss your options, please contact our practice today. Dr. Sherman will be happy to answer your questions and
talk with you about procedures that may be right for you.

Give Us A Call

(212) 535-2300

Click To Schedule A Consultation

New York plastic surgeon John E. Sherman, MD, FACS offers breast augmentation, breast reduction, facelift, nose surgery (rhinoplasty), ear surgery (otoplasty), tummy tuck (abdominoplasty), and a wide range of other plastic surgery procedures and cosmetic treatments. Dr. Sherman treats patients in the New York area. Patients from other areas of the U.S. and throughout the world travel to New York for plastic surgery with Dr. Sherman. Photos of actual plastic surgery patients are available in the plastic surgery before and after photo gallery. Dr. Sherman is a top NY Breast Augmentation doctor on RealSelf.